Building your own bass? Bass kits?

Bass mods, tweaks, and the like are home in here. Got an Evil Experiment to share? Pull up a keyboard and have at it!

The EBA is hosted by deltafred, a UK based pro player and electronics guru.

No sales or advertisements, no matter how well veiled, are permitted - not even a pointer elsewhere.

Moderator: deltafred

Building your own bass? Bass kits?

Postby STRZ » Wed Aug 30, 2017 8:49 am

Anyone goes as far as to build their own bass? I am thinking of buliding my own bass, but I am not sure if I want to try one of the kits that are available or just buy a neck. I am a mechanical engineer and fabricator, so the idea of making the body from scratch does not seem to be too big of a deal, the neck on the other hand seems easy to screw up and not worth the effort versus just buying one.

There are a lot choices from Ebay, and even direct from china. I have looked a Pitbull as well.
STRZ

Re: Building your own bass? Bass kits?

Postby TDR1138 » Wed Aug 30, 2017 11:11 am

There are a lot of reports on other sites about the quality of the kits and people’s experiences building them, if you dig around enough. But a lot of it boils down to the old “you get what you pay for” concept… i.e. the $89 J bass kits are not going to have the best quality of components… Not to say that they can’t be a fun way to blow $89, but it just depends what you want to get out of it.

Personally, I have done the following:
• Built a guitar using a kit neck (Saga brand) and homemade body
• Built a bass using various parts sourced from eBay, web, etc. I used a Mighty Mite neck and a Fender body that I refinished, various other parts
• Swapped necks and parts around on countless Squier and SX instruments
• Hacked up, modified and butchered some other Squiers and Ibanezes

Things I have learned:
• Finishing a guitar is frustrating. To be done well, it takes a while, and is too easy to rush. Rushing is bad.