First "REAL" self-setup on my '83 SB-2

This is the main discussion and technical forum for G&L and Tribute by G&L basses. Please limit the discussion to G&L and Tribute by G&L.

No sales or advertisements, no matter how well veiled, are permitted - not even a pointer elsewhere.

First "REAL" self-setup on my '83 SB-2

Postby SailRI » Fri Oct 23, 2009 4:45 pm

(Disclaimer - I'm a novice/newbie to most things - this may not excite those of you who work on your own)

So a month or longer ago, I decide that I'm going to try and clean up my '83 SB-2 purchased on New Year's Day. I wanted it to just look a little shinier and crisper.

So I take off the strings, remove each saddle and put them in their own labeled bag, and try to wipe down the gunk with a little bit of denatured alcohol. Came out a little bit hazy in spots. Enough to scare me that maybe this is actually NOT the thing to use as a degreaser?

Then a bit of mild 3M rubbing compound on the back. Followed up with the Meguiar's Paint Cleaner/Polish/Carnauba wax on the body, just a little wax on the back of the neck and headstock. The haze is gone, things are shinier.

I hit the saddles with a touch of Simachrome polish, to bring out a little shine. I thought of hitting the tuners too, but the roadworn patina is just too good to shine them up. Then I dipped the saddle screws in a little Marvel Mystery Oil and wiped off the excess. Then the bass sat for a month while I worried there was no way I'd get everything back together without losing something, breaking something, or just screwing up the relief or string height. So I just didn't want to fail. I'd put strings on before, even tried to play with the intonation of another fully setup bass. But this bass had once had a quick "in the middle of a lesson" setup by my instructor once, and we'd not had any luck on intonation with the screws all the way in on two strings, so it had been definitely off at before the strings came off.

Today, I decided to try.