L 1000 Schematic Times 2

Seeing as how we are fortunate to count Paul Gagon as a member here, it seemed like a good time to give him a home to stretch out in and relax a little. Maybe exercise the grey matter and present a little history of the guitar and bass (amps too!) from his perspective as one of the eminent designers of our time.

Got questions? Great! Good questions might be, "What kind of windings are on the S500 pickup and why?" Or, "What was the thought process behind the MJ-4?" Troubleshooting questions should remain in the regular forums (he reads those too). Finally, please be mindful of how I feel about tech questions via PM or email.

Moderator: Paul Gagon

L 1000 Schematic Times 2

Postby PieterG » Mon May 14, 2018 5:19 pm

I am a hobby bass builder and player. I fell in love with the L 1000's tones when I played one a few years back for sale used. Always dreamed of building my own version with two pickups, separate volume controls, single treble tone control and bass "boost" control and of the course the on/on/on OMG switch like the original.
I purchased everything the circuit required originally plus an extra volume control. I am using Kent Armstrong "Claymores" for the pickups.
The diagram I downloaded from here.
I got ready to solder only to realize that it might not be as easy just added another volume control and doubling up some of the wiring connections.
Any idea of where I might be able to go to find out exactly what I need do or add?
I feel pretty confident reading diagrams and have soldered together a couple of ham radio kits and projects (N2PG). I am not confident on circuit design.
Any help would be greatly appreciated.
PieterG

Re: L 1000 Schematic Times 2

Postby Ken Baker » Mon May 14, 2018 8:02 pm

If anyone here has experience with the Kent Armstrong pickups you mention, maybe they can speak up. I have no idea at all. Nor do I have a V-V-T circuit anywhere. Sorry.

However...