A bass in need...

We are fortunate to count Paul Gagon as a member here, so it seemed natural to give him a home to stretch out in and relax a little. Maybe exercise the grey matter and present a little history of the guitar and bass (amps too!) from his perspective as one of the eminent designers of our time.

Got questions? Great! Good questions might be, "What are the EQ mappings for the M Series preamps?" Or, "What was the thought process behind the MJ-4?" Troubleshooting questions should remain in the regular forums (he reads those too). Finally, please be mindful of how I feel about tech questions via PM or email.

Moderator: Paul Gagon

A bass in need...

Postby Alex83tele » Tue Jan 10, 2017 11:23 am

Hi, I'm new to G&L, as far as "looking under the hood" goes. I've recently become very involved in making, modifying, and repairing electronics. So naturally, when the band I share a practice space had amp trouble, they came to me for help. After repairing the amp, I asked about the buzz coming from the bass...they asked if I could fix it...here we are. This bass wasn't modified, it was massacred. This is the condition the current owners obtained it in, so retribution is out of the question :roll: I won't get into the laundry list of atrocities committed on this poor instrument, but suffice it to say, whoever sanded it down to bare wood was courteous enough to leave MOST of the logo on the headstock. It reads "L-2000 Bass Series." The stamp on the bridge puts it in 1981 area, and I believe it. The areas that aren't normally visible show age, ie: the underside of the pickups, in the body cavity, and the little sliver of neck that faces the pickups. It has been wired, poorly I might add, like a PJ bass (V,V,T). The preamp...gone, 4PDT...gone. I would post pictures, but I'm afraid someone might see them during dinner and be sick.