Gigging the Wunkay

OMG!!! Mode, that is. This is the forum for a true G&L monster, the L-1000. Simple, passive, and huge, the Wunkay speaks volumes for the G&L sound.

Wunkay Wuvers is hosted by Dukeplaysbass, a Los Angeles pro player and L-1000 expert.

No sales or advertisements, no matter how well veiled, are permitted - not even a pointer elsewhere.

Moderator: dukeplaysbass

Gigging the Wunkay

Postby derick » Fri Aug 11, 2017 10:05 am

Okay, so I've been playing out for a couple of years with several different L-1000 basses, mostly jams but the occasional paying job using my own amp. I special-ordered my first wunkay in the fall of 1981, it's the white/ebony one. I've played through several different amps, and while it's hard to get an accurate read on what the bass is actually sounding like out front unless someone else is playing it, here are my impressions comparing various strings, woods, fretboards, etc.