Left Handed L1000

OMG!!! Mode, that is. This is the forum for a true G&L monster, the L-1000. Simple, passive, and huge, the Wunkay speaks volumes for the G&L sound.

Wunkay Wuvers is hosted by Dukeplaysbass, a Los Angeles pro player and L-1000 expert.

No sales or advertisements, no matter how well veiled, are permitted - not even a pointer elsewhere.

Moderator: dukeplaysbass

Left Handed L1000

Postby Deano » Mon Apr 17, 2017 2:45 pm

Deano

Re: Left Handed L1000

Postby Southpaw » Wed Oct 18, 2017 7:22 am

Hello everyone,
I am a newbie to this forum but a long time G&L fan and player. A few months ago I purchased the lefty 1981 L1000 posted above (the ad has been deleted). It is a beautiful bass, an excellent example of early G&L. The only items to note are; it is heavy! Just over 10.5 lbs., Not sure of the wood, ash? alder? Also it has finish checking. At some time it was taken from hot to cold or vice versa too quickly and it suffered finish checking. I was happy to find the checking is only visible on an angle in certain light, so not an issue at all for me.

The bass appears original, no alterations, case too. It has 81' slot pole pieces, chrome hardware, a very dark rosewood fretboard, it almost looks ebony except lighter color in one spot reveals the grain.
I am not sure if anyone ever touched this bass beyond playing it; while cleaning, I removed the neck to photograph the neck and body dates for insurance and the best way to verify the build date on a G&L (July 1981 for both), the creaking of the screws at first turn and the finishing dust underneath leads me to believe it was not disassembled or maybe long ago. I took pictures and reassembled assuring each screw returned to it's original hole (a bit of OCD). Done.